Garden Party

ImageMy mother-in-law hired me to get some updated images of our niece, Abby. Its amazing how different and grown up she looks since I saw her last on New Years. We decided on the Green Bay Botanical Gardens so that she can showcase her new dress she bought in Iowa the beginning of summer.

As soon as we started shooting, it began to rain. Luckily, the rain only lasted momentarily and we could continue. Of course, the rain wasn’t going to stop me anyways. We have a couple images of the rain falling behind her.

The gardens are so amazing. Every time I’m there, there’s different flowers and plants to look at. I can’t imagine how much time and maintenance goes into that place. Then again, this is coming from a girl who can barely keep a cactus alive.

Image

I saw a lot of myself in Abby while we were chatting and shooting. I remember being 12 and and looking for that creative outlet. I remember experimenting with my look and drawing all the time. I always felt “older” than my friends. They all wanted to play tag on the playground and all I wanted to do was think about art.

Image

Abby was so much fun to shoot. I wanted to give her those grown up model shots but still keep the integrity of her age with some classic, youthful portraits. I hope we get to work together in a few years for her high school senior portraits!

Leave a comment